Juice?! You can’t handle the juice!!

Well besides my clever and oh so cheesy A Few Good Men reference, (by the way that is an amazing movie), I really do have some really clever and cool stuff to share!

Juicing? Smoothies? What the heck are they?! What types of wonderful benefits can come from juicing delicious organic fruits and vegetables? Well from what I have researched, the benefits include: more energy, weight loss, promotes healthy eating habits, and much more! Not to mention, parents, you can hide vegetables from your kids behind the sweet taste of berries. I don’t know about you all, but to me, that alone sounds like a win! If you need to hear it from a professional, I have included a YouTube video for your viewing pleasure.  Dr. Melissa West goes over in her video the top ten benefits of juicing: https://youtu.be/-JSWveRNdcQ  Juices and or smoothies are delicious! No, really, they are.

Once upon a time, not too long ago, I too was all about the sugary, 10% fruit juice, high fructose corn syrup drinks! To me they were delicious! Something that delicious couldn’t be bad for you, right? I thought Kool-aid drinks were awesome as a child, so I wanted to share them with my kids!  But, my husband at the time thought it would be wise to look into some more natural drinks.  YES, ladies and gentlemen, my dreams were shattered, but in the long term,  as much I would hate to say, he was absolutely right.

Over the years, I’ve managed to stay away (for the most part) from sugary drinks.  I buy 100% juices and make smoothies mostly.  I buy cold pressed juices, well, because as of right now I do not own a juicer (I am definitely placing one on my wedding gift registry or maybe just ask my mom for hers!).  As a gift, purchased myself, or my mother finding hers mysteriously missing from her kitchen, either or, I will juice! But for now, I am loving the benefits that I am receiving from juices (made with real organic fruits and vegetables) and smoothies.

Now, I understand we all can’t run out and buy the blenders and juicers we need to make delicious, body nourishing, mind blowing smoothies and juices, so, I’ve added a couple of links to my two favorite companies who are willing to the work for you! (Plus it is kind of their job, but I would like to think that they are doing out of pure passion) Suja Juice, was an accident. I came across them while “speed” shopping through the produce section at my local grocery store. They were out of my normal flavor and brand of juice, and noticed these lovely beacons of light smiling upon me from a cooler shelf. They are cold-pressed, nutritious, bottles of sunshine. I say this because my children drink them! Score!     http://www.sujajuice.com/  The next one is Bolthouse Farms. They have delicious assortment of flavors for the newbie in the smoothie world.  And once again, was a major score with the kids! (I so hope I am using that word in the correct context). http://www.bolthouse.com/

So, if you are curious about what juicing and smoothie-ing can do or just want to find out how they taste, I suggest you start small. There are a lot of wonderful recipes out there to get you started! Not to mention, a ton of information about what each smoothie or juice promotes. I would like to write about everything juice and smoothie related in this blog, but for now, I do believe this is a good introduction for things to come! Happy Juicing!

 

Leave a Reply

